Reading > Eating

Before now, I’ve never really counted how many books I read, except for when I used to keep a ‘reading journal’ at the age of six.  However, I signed up for a Goodreads account about a week ago and have already found it to be rather fruitful.

2012 Reading Challenge

2012 Reading Challenge

Somersaulting Through Life has read 7 books toward her goal of 30 books.

hide

I have decided to pledge thirty books to read this year.  Hopefully, I will surpass this number; but since I have never counted how many books I read per year, I found myself to be rather clueless as to how many to aim for.  Thirty seemed like a wholesome number.

If you endeavour to glance at my list of ‘read’ books, you will discover that I have a rather odd, eclectic taste, lacking in numbers.  Please bear in mind that I have only started to click off books, and gradually the list will accumulate.  It is rather hard to make a list of all the books that you have read in your entire life, and has left me slightly perplexed.  According to my recommendations which Goodreads puts forward, my favourite genres are: Classics (accurate – I am trying to immerse myself!), Historical Fiction, Chick Lit (I suppose if you count Austen and Gaskell…), Crime, Fantasy, Mystery (There’s nothing like a good spy thriller) and Romance…  Hmm…  To be completely honest, most of the books I have added to the ‘read’ list are from “my younger and more vulnerable years…”  (50 STL points if you know where that quotation is from!)  I just felt like adding lots of series of YA books which I read years and years ago, so that it looks like I’ve read more books…  (Guilty giggle…)  My literary taste has since matured (I hope)…

I have most recently finished The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes  The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Clever, witty and intriguing…

I have a variety of books on my to-read list:

Or, in more physical terms, here is the pile of spanking-new books which are making me feel guilty:
 To-read
“READ ME,” I hear them cry at night.  I have bought all of these (Jane Austen’s Letters was signed by the editor, Deirdre Le Faye, whom I met!), or they were given to me; however, I will probably have to take a trip to my local Red Cross charity shop to see if I can spot the others on my ‘to-read list,’ or else borrow them from my local library.

I am currently reading The Paris Magazine (Published by the bookshop Shakespeare & Co., which I posted about here), Middlemarch (although, I have only read a page or two so far, so that perhaps shouldn’t count) and Wordsworth’s Poetry (which I have already posted about here).

Somersaulting Through Life is currently reading:

If you have any helpful recommendations, please let me know!  Feel free to add me on Goodreads, too.

STL.

P.S.  Yes, I agree.  These Goodreads widgets are rather delectable.  The charming little book covers will soon be added to my new right-hand sidebar

8 thoughts on “Reading > Eating

  1. You will have to tell me how Good Reads treats you. I’ve been considering getting an account, but there are already so many websites to keep track of I’m not sure it’d be worth the time it takes to set it all up. Worried I might just get bored and stop after a week. XD

    • I’ll let you know how I find it! At first it is rather time-consuming, adding all the books which you have read. On the other hand, you don’t have to do this, the only benefit is that Goodreads can then generate recommendations for you. So far I’m finding it useful – it’s easy to use and satisfying to cross books off your lists! :D

  2. I’ve read most of the books on the “to-read” book list ….that means you have good taste ;)
    Seeing Fahrenheit 451 was the first “science fiction” book I read, and I’m not really into Sci-fi.
    Virginia Woolf’s “A room of one’s own”…I think my favorite quote from the book was something like: Only when a woman has a room of one’s own can they become a good writer…which basically means that only when a woman thinks independently, she can write well.
    As for the “The Help” — never read the book. I decided to just watch the movie, because I try to avoid reading books that are on current best-seller lists, just my preference.

    • I’m glad you approve! :) I’m looking forward to reading A Room of One’s Own. I know what you mean, I don’t usually read best-sellers, but this one really caught my eye and so many people have told me to read it! We’ll see… What are you reading atm?

Please leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you! (You don't have to have a Wordpress account)

