The History of the English Language in 10 Minutes

Welcome to Somersaulting Through Life’s new weekly feature:

Watchable Wednesdays

True to its name, every Wednesday I hope to share with you videos which I have enjoyed and think you might, too.  We all need a bit of cheering up to last until the end of the week, don’t we?

To kick off, here is a thoroughly informative and entertaining cartoon documentary of the birth of the English language.  It is the first of a 10-part series by the Open University, which I highly recommend for all avid readers or any who are interested in the words we use on a daily basis.

The full length version (PG) only takes up 10 minutes of your time and is sure to make you chuckle.  The cartoons are rather “Horrible Histories”-esque and that is why I like them.  My personal favourite is Chapter III: Shakespeare – a perfect example of an educational diversion from the stress of weekdays.

I hope you enjoy.
STL.
6 thoughts on “The History of the English Language in 10 Minutes

  1. I can’t wait to watch this. I saw your blog title and I was like, “I have to see this.” I took a class on the History of English Language (which shouldn’t be covered in a semester, but who am I to say now that there’s a ten minute video). Thank you, thank you.

    • Thank you so much, E A M! This means so much to me! I’m sure you had a hard time deciding who to give it to as there are so many wonderful blogs out there, so thank you for choosing mine. I love reading yours and will continue to do so. Thank you again!

Please leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you! (You don't have to have a Wordpress account)

